And So It Begins…

One week ago today I ran my first Marathon. I ran the 2012 Disney Marathon with my future wife. It was one of the best experiences I have had to this point in my life.

This amazing experience is why I am starting this journal. My goal in August when she and I began training for Disney was to finish the marathon. Now that that goal has been met I am slowly formulating a new goal. I know it is going to take patience and time, but I want to run ultra-marathons.

I have never considered myself an athlete by any stretch of the word. I played basketball growing up and also golf. I was very involved with music (hence becoming a music teacher) and therefore did not have time to be involved with sports.

Kris, my future wife, had a goal to run the Disney Marathon at the conclusion of her residency in internal veterinary medicine and also as part of her “bucket list.” I thought it would be nice to show my support for her and participate. Little did I know what I was getting myself into.

All of this began very grueling for me. Our runs started as short three milers and intervening those by running for 3 minutes and then walking for 2. She was more in shape than I was and thankfully patient as I worked up my physical conditioning.

The day it all clicked for me was when a friend of mine invited me on a run with him. He was working on the couch to 5K program on his phone. He was running a full 3 miles without stop.

Going on a run….be right back…

Ok, so where was I…

My friend and I went on our 3 mile run. His pace was such that we could hold a conversation. Before I knew it we were done! I had run 3 miles without stopping! From then on I was inspired that I was in fact able to run!

That next weekend I came home to the first of our distance runs (7 miles). I was determined to run this distance without stopping! I convinced Kris that we could do it and off we went. It was very difficult but we did achieve the 7 mile run without stopping. Looking back, it was probably not what we should have done for our first time at distance, we should probably had intervaled the run, but it is what it was. We were both very tired after the run and I had felt extremely dizzy for the last mile of the run.

After this initial distance run we both agreed that we would follow the Jeff Galloway method more closely for training for our marathon in January.

I don’t know where this journal will take me or how much I will post. I am shooting for posting something once a week. Feel free to follow me along this crazy journey called life and with my new found addiction. My next post will probably be more about the starts of all this and my journey to the finish of my first marathon and also my quest for the next race.

About davidnolsen

I am a 6 through 8 grade music teacher. I enjoy many outdoor activities including hiking, backpacking, and kayaking. I am also a big computer geek. I love learning about computers, programing, web design and just how it all works. I began running in August of 2011 to support my future wife with her goal of running in the 2012 Disney Marathon. I have subsequently become pretty addicted to running and this is a journal of my past, present, and future running shenanigans. Stick around for a while if you wish and I hope you enjoy the ride, I know I am joying it! View all posts by davidnolsen

2 responses to “And So It Begins…

Leave a Reply

