Best Laid Plans…

This is the first of two weeks off running. I am not running because of waiting for my new shoes come in (with custom orthotics). In the interim my plan is this: Starting Tuesday (yesterday) cycling 10 miles with sprints mixed in with a fast pace every other day. Then on the opposite days water jogging for 30 minutes using 20/20 second intervals.

The title of this post purposefully has the ellipsis. Today the water jogging did not happen. I feel so horrible when I can not get out…I am getting edgy and irritable.  Not being able to run on a regular basis has become very painful. Cycling and water jogging helps just keep off the edge. Now I feel as if I have to play catch up! Don’t know how that is going to go down. Why did it not happen as planned…work and life happened.

I will most likely go with the aqua jogging tomorrow and then perhaps again on Friday (just because I really like doing it!). If you are not familiar with water jogging there are some great videos on YouTube. This video is one that I watched when I first started. It is one of the most amazing no impact workouts.  The first time I did it my legs were extremely tired to the point I almost could not walk on them because of fatigue. When I got fitted for my aqua jogger vest the folks at Fleet Feet took one look at me and gave me the one with maximum float (they said I had no fat and would sink to the bottom…haha).  The vest is to help with keeping proper form for newbies….which I am.

About davidnolsen

I am a 6 through 8 grade music teacher. I enjoy many outdoor activities including hiking, backpacking, and kayaking. I am also a big computer geek. I love learning about computers, programing, web design and just how it all works. I began running in August of 2011 to support my future wife with her goal of running in the 2012 Disney Marathon. I have subsequently become pretty addicted to running and this is a journal of my past, present, and future running shenanigans. Stick around for a while if you wish and I hope you enjoy the ride, I know I am joying it! View all posts by davidnolsen

Leave a Reply

