The Rest of the Week

While I feel as if most of this week was a loss, because of lack of running, I have to think that this time off will hopefully result in a stronger me.

Thursday resulted in no aqua jogging but instead a late night 10 mile cycling trek. While this was disappointing it felt great once I was on the bike and almost done. My bike route is becoming a bit boring so I need to probably start finding something  bit more interesting. I did not have to dodge cars this time, but I did almost take a face plant because of a curb. I think I need a lamp. One thing I really like about the route though is the remoteness of it. There is about a 3 mile stretch that is on a four lane highway with sidewalks (just sitting there waiting for development) that is really dark (no street lights) and desolate.

On another note, my bike is making crazy weird sounds when I peddle and also when I punch it it the gears slip. I called a place close by for some work and they are only available during the week.  ARG! Going to have to creatively plan on how to get it into the shop for adjustments.

Friday I went to work, just a teacher work day (no students), got all my work done early so I got to go to the YMCA and do 30 minutes of aqua jogging. I chose to try 30:30 second intervals. It started out hard but then got a bit easier. My goal is to work up to 1:1 intervals. I still seem to get a weird swelling in my left knee.  I don’t really understand what it is and I don’t even know where to start to figure out who to see for something like this.

Today and tomorrow….dont know yet what I am going to do.  Probably cycle today and aqua jog tomorrow.  Tuesday I am supposed to get my shoes back (fingers crossed!).  Then I will get back into running with my current insert and walk for that week with my new custom insert.

GOAL THIS YEAR: 3 Marathons

1: Disney Marathon

2: ?

3: ?

About davidnolsen

I am a 6 through 8 grade music teacher. I enjoy many outdoor activities including hiking, backpacking, and kayaking. I am also a big computer geek. I love learning about computers, programing, web design and just how it all works. I began running in August of 2011 to support my future wife with her goal of running in the 2012 Disney Marathon. I have subsequently become pretty addicted to running and this is a journal of my past, present, and future running shenanigans. Stick around for a while if you wish and I hope you enjoy the ride, I know I am joying it! View all posts by davidnolsen

Leave a Reply

