A New Chapter

Today was disappointing but ultimately exciting!

I had contacted Track Shack about joining the already in progress Marathonfest to help me get ready for my next step in distance training. I never heard from anyone back!  So today I called the store and got to someone who started screening me. I gave them many answers to questions about my weekly millage and also fitness level. I explained to them, I think the right way, that I had just finished my first marathon. To my dismay they suggested that marathonfest was over my head and that perhaps I should look to doing something a little less strenuous to stay injury free and build a good base. I agreed but was also a bit disappointed.

Come to find out the same person whom I contacted for marathon fest was also the contact person for five and dime training. I contacted her and explained all that I had been through and gave just a bit of information about my running experiences. She immediately got back with me saying that they are going for  a 6.5 mile run on Saturday and I was more than welcome to join in marathonfest if I was up to it!  THIS IS EXCITING. I feel like a whole new world is about to open up for me and my enjoyment of running.

I went for an easy 3 mile run (turns out that my pace was much faster than usual, 8:27!). I did this run from where I work (my plan B from my last post). It was nice getting to run in my Beasts that had been out of town for a whole week getting orthotics installed.

Tomorrow will be day 3 of my orthotics and I will have worked up to wearing them for 6 hours. The podiatrist wants me to take it easy breaking in my orthotics and getting my feet used to them. I am not allowed to wear them all day and defiantly not run in them yet. But he did say that I will need to start running a little at a time and to start weening myself off my old spencos.

…this is getting exciting!

About davidnolsen

I am a 6 through 8 grade music teacher. I enjoy many outdoor activities including hiking, backpacking, and kayaking. I am also a big computer geek. I love learning about computers, programing, web design and just how it all works. I began running in August of 2011 to support my future wife with her goal of running in the 2012 Disney Marathon. I have subsequently become pretty addicted to running and this is a journal of my past, present, and future running shenanigans. Stick around for a while if you wish and I hope you enjoy the ride, I know I am joying it! View all posts by davidnolsen

Leave a Reply

