A Whole New World!

Saturday morning seems to have sparked an already lit fire in me. I joined MarathonFest and met up with a group of runners in Apopka, Fl for hill training. We ran 6.5 miles (turned out to be about 7) at around 10:38 pace. Our group leader is Wendy. She is really nice, full of energy, and very inspirational. Then there is Mike, Nichole, and Denny. Not quite sure how to spell their names (except for Mike). Denny is training for his second Boston Marathon and is coming off of being injured, which is why he was running with our group, and Nichole is working her way to the Rock n’ Roll in Nashville.

I found hill training to be a lot of fun! I enjoyed our pace and the great conversations from the group. They had only met once prior to this run so everyone is still getting to know everyone and it is a really nice atmosphere. I liked going up the hills far more than going down the hills. I think I might be missing something about the going down part and may need to find out if I am doing it the right way.

Our group is meeting again on Tuesday for a 10 mile run on the Cady Way Trail. I think that we are going to do a tempo run but not really sure yet.

One of the first questions I was asked was what was the marathon I was training for currently to which I did not have a reply except for that I wanted to do two more before the year was out. They all kind of giggled and mentioned another runner who trained for a whole year before being able to commit to a run!  Well. I have been doing a whole lot of searching and planning since that run Saturday morning (yes….all what 24 hours…) and I think I have a bit of a draft of where I see the rest of the year going. I have a few friends who have suggested that the Nashville Rock n’ Roll marathon is a nice one and that also Chicago and NY would too be nice marathons. One even suggested Boston! (I told them that I am not fast enough for that!)

So here is my current draft plan: Nashville’s Rock N’ Roll Full on April 28 and then the Space Coast Full on the Sunday after Thanksgiving. Another race that I am considering as part of my training for Nashville would include running with my friend Bill in the Five Points of Life Half Marathon in Gainesville, FL.

I get nervous that I am biting off more than I can chew…but I just don’t know. I feel great. These sound like accomplishable goals….I just feel like I need reassurance from somewhere that something like what I am planning is OK.

On another note. I am going to the track store and looking at watches. I like the Garmin 610 and the Nike+ and would like to look at both. I don’t really know which I would pick or which is better. I have been doing a bit of research on both. I like the looks of the Nike…but I like the name of Garmin and the features it seems to come with over the Nike. I also like the display that the Nike uses as it looks much easier to look at at a quick glance. But I imagine if you know your watch well enough that you can find what you need quickly at a glance anyway.

About davidnolsen

I am a 6 through 8 grade music teacher. I enjoy many outdoor activities including hiking, backpacking, and kayaking. I am also a big computer geek. I love learning about computers, programing, web design and just how it all works. I began running in August of 2011 to support my future wife with her goal of running in the 2012 Disney Marathon. I have subsequently become pretty addicted to running and this is a journal of my past, present, and future running shenanigans. Stick around for a while if you wish and I hope you enjoy the ride, I know I am joying it! View all posts by davidnolsen

Leave a Reply

