Sunday Night Recap 2/5/12

Thursday morning ran 5 miles of hills in Winter Park. It was a beautiful morning and I really enjoyed the run! Our group keeps getting larger! We did two hill repeats.

Friday was a rest day.

Saturday we ran 10 miles! It was great. we started at 4:45 am and ran at about 9:51 pace. Our group started out real small, about 5 people, and by the end we had collected another 8 or so! We kept collecting people as we passed the water station and people were joining in for different distances. Our pace keeper, Ed, is really nice. He is a physical therapist I think. I made a big announcement in the run, STRETCH AFTER RUNNING TODAY!, we don’t want any injures.

Apparently marathonfest can have a 50% dropout rate due to injury! His goal is to keep his really large “cool” group together for the whole season. I like that goal. I am working very hard to stay injury free.

That brings us to today SUNDAY!

Today I had a real tough time getting motivated to get out…but I did. I did a 45 minutes of strength training and then aqua jogged for 30 minutes. It was a great workout!

Strength training included: 3 sets of 12 reps of each exercises: Quad extensions, ham string exercise, deadlifts, step ups, step up and kicks, squats on a balance board, hip flexing and unflexing (I’m sure that there is a real term for this…), back strengthening. I performed 3 sets of 1 minute planks and then aqua jogged 50 second intervals for 30 minutes.

It was a  great day! Tomorrow, Monday, will also be a rest day. I hope that I am not REAL lame after this workout…a little pain is ok…no pain no gain!

About davidnolsen

I am a 6 through 8 grade music teacher. I enjoy many outdoor activities including hiking, backpacking, and kayaking. I am also a big computer geek. I love learning about computers, programing, web design and just how it all works. I began running in August of 2011 to support my future wife with her goal of running in the 2012 Disney Marathon. I have subsequently become pretty addicted to running and this is a journal of my past, present, and future running shenanigans. Stick around for a while if you wish and I hope you enjoy the ride, I know I am joying it! View all posts by davidnolsen

Leave a Reply

