This week so far 2/9/12

Tuesday and Thursday Marathonfest meetings were AMAZING! Very inspiring days.

Tuesday was speed work day. We did intervals of 1200, 1000, 800, 600, and 400 and alternated between our 10k pace and our 5k pace between each set. We did a 2oo jog between each interval. I worked hard…I could probably have pushed myself harder…but I am working on even establishing my pace. I am finding it a bit difficult without a good sports watch like a Garmin. AND to top it off I left my ironman at home. I tried to use my phone by timing my distance around the track in minutes. It went OK.  I think when all was said and done..my pace was faster than it needed to be.

My goal is a 4:30 marathon. Now just to decide on a marathon to run!!! I would also like to do a half.

Wednesday was an absolutely beautiful day. I stepped outside of my classroom to go to the front office and I got the running itch really bad. Once I got home I just changed really quick and put my feet to the road. I had mapped out at nice little 5 miler earlier in the day and thought I would try to use my new speed to see what I could do to it. Once I got close to home I checked my distance on my phone….i was off by about a mile!  What happened! I ran a bit more then decided what I had mapped must have been correct and that my phone had just messed up. Well, I was wrong. I had taken a wrong turn on my route and clipped off just a little over a mile. I was a bit disappointed. But I did run 3.8 miles at an 8.37 average pace! That is way faster that what I usually run and I still felt great! Probably could have even kept up a conversation.

Thursday was more hill work. No hill repeats…but just large loops of the same hills and a little bit on the track. Found two new running buddies, Stephanie and Wendy. They are just a bit faster than my group…but we seemed to mesh just right in our pace. We also seemed to help egg each other on in terms of keeping up the pace. Stephanie is working toward running a marathon in Dallas and Wendy (who is really fast…compared to me anyway) is training for her FIRST marathon in Barcelona, Spain (of all places to do your first marathon…what an amazing thing)! I was able to log a total of 8 miles this morning! And my average pace was right around 9.

I am hurting  just a little bit tonight…mainly a bit of pain in my left lower back. I did some stretching and am hoping that it is just something that will work itself out.

I am really looking forward to this weekend when our group will do various distances. I am planning on going 14 miles. The idea is a 10 mile base run and then tack on another 14. Wendy is happy that I am joining in on the 10 so that she will have someone to run with for the last 4. She is planning on going in just a little earlier and doing 6 before everyone else joins in for the 10. I told her that I would be fresh and help keep her going on her path to 20 miles.

I hope everyone is having a great week! Keep Running!

About davidnolsen

I am a 6 through 8 grade music teacher. I enjoy many outdoor activities including hiking, backpacking, and kayaking. I am also a big computer geek. I love learning about computers, programing, web design and just how it all works. I began running in August of 2011 to support my future wife with her goal of running in the 2012 Disney Marathon. I have subsequently become pretty addicted to running and this is a journal of my past, present, and future running shenanigans. Stick around for a while if you wish and I hope you enjoy the ride, I know I am joying it! View all posts by davidnolsen

Leave a Reply

