Runner’s Log Stardate 2/14/12

It is valentine’s day….happy valentines day!

This morning I decided to push my limits a bit more. I logged a total of 8 miles at around an 8 minute pace.

Our speed work consisted of three sets of 1200, 800, @ 10k pace and then 400 @ 5k pace. After each set I felt like I was going to die…but starting the next set I was all like OH this is easy!  haha.  The last two sets our coach, Ed, said to run as fast as you could without hurting yourself. I did just that (without hurting myself). My inspiration for running so fast was Denny. He is a fast, fast man! While I did not beat him, I did keep up with him most of the way through the 400. It was at the very end that he took me. It is not about the race…but it is about the friendship and the motivation and support. I am not competitive per say….but I like to take my body to its limits.

After that workout this morning my day was absolutely amazing! I was full of energy and inspired to do the best I could in my job. I love feeling that way!  I even brought a 5 hour energy drink, and didn’t even need it, with me to work after the day I had on Monday. It was just very unmotivating….

After work I took my first trip to the Whole Foods Market. I bought eggs and ham (trying to get more protein in my diet) to make an omelet for dinner. I also bought Chia Seeds. I read about these in the book Born to Run, by C. McDougall, and wanted to try them out for my self. Apparently they are a great source of energy for long distance running. I’ll let you know how that goes. I’m thinking I may try them on a non run day at first just to see what happens to my gut before I try them in training or on a long run just so I don’t get an unexpected surprise! Here is another link to a chia seed recipe for a drink. I am going to try the 10 oz of water to 1 tbsp of seeds and see what that does for me.

As a side note I tried Yoga for the first time on Monday. It was nice! I am hoping to gain some flexibility and core stability.

Thursday is a tempo run! This will be my first tempo run with the group. We are planning on running at 30 seconds per mile faster than our goal pace for about 6 miles. I should be able to log 8 miles total again because of a 2 mile warm up run.

About davidnolsen

I am a 6 through 8 grade music teacher. I enjoy many outdoor activities including hiking, backpacking, and kayaking. I am also a big computer geek. I love learning about computers, programing, web design and just how it all works. I began running in August of 2011 to support my future wife with her goal of running in the 2012 Disney Marathon. I have subsequently become pretty addicted to running and this is a journal of my past, present, and future running shenanigans. Stick around for a while if you wish and I hope you enjoy the ride, I know I am joying it! View all posts by davidnolsen

Leave a Reply

