Training Starting to Take Shape

Slowly things are starting to take shape with my running routine.

A goal is to up my weekly milage. Currently it looks like my average mile per week has gone from 20 to 30 since I started marathonfest. I am very happy with this current amount.

Mondays – Rest (yoga day)

Tuesdays – Speed work (averaging 8 miles)

Wednesdays – (Have to come up with a name for this day….you’ll see why later in this post)

Thursdays – Speed work or Tempo run (averaging 8 miles)

Friday – Rest

Saturday or Sunday – Long run and Cross Training (one on each day not both on both days)

Back to the Wednesday thing. I was not going to run on wednesday this week, but I got home from work and just had this major itch to get out. I did not want to run a certain milage or a pace so instead I decided I would run for a length of time. I set my timer for 30 minutes and began running away from home. When the timer rang I turned around. This was one of the most liberating experiences I have had on my runs in a while. I really enjoyed just running as far as I could in the 30 minute time frame without any other goal but to run. It turned out that I ran for 1 hour (my initial goal) at a 9:15 pace per mile! and logged 6.76 miles! I was very pleased with the result and there was no goal other than to run for an hour. The speed work really has paid off. I had no fatigue during this run at all.

My goal for Wednesdays will be to maintain or add 1 or two minutes to my going out time. So next week I’ll run away from the house for either 31 or 32 minuets. So now for a name….I need a name for my Wednesdays that has some poetry to it. I was thinking Wandering Wednesdays or Where do I get Wednesdays, or WDW (where’s david wednesdays)…

On my Wednesday run I also tried a Chia drink mixture. This could have helped with the whole fatigue issue. It is great stuff. I could feel the instant energy boost. The only downside to drinking the mixture was that it also kept me up all night because it was so late when I drank it. I am excited to try the drink out again tomorrow for my 10 mile Saturday run. My plan is to mix the drink before the run. Drink all 10 oz before heading out and seeing what it does.Thursday’s tempo run was about 5 miles and turned out to be about a 9:09 pace per mile. Again, here I did not feel as if I was pushing my self very hard to make this pace. I was just keeping up with the group and could hold nice conversations the whole time. I think I need to start pushing my self a little more on the speed work days and see if I can cut out another minute from my easy runs. But I also don’t want to push things too much!

Sunday there is a 5 mile trail run that I would love to do, but I don’t know if I should add those miles to my week and I don’t really have an old pair of shoes to wear and get ruined. So the jury is still out on attending that run.

About davidnolsen

I am a 6 through 8 grade music teacher. I enjoy many outdoor activities including hiking, backpacking, and kayaking. I am also a big computer geek. I love learning about computers, programing, web design and just how it all works. I began running in August of 2011 to support my future wife with her goal of running in the 2012 Disney Marathon. I have subsequently become pretty addicted to running and this is a journal of my past, present, and future running shenanigans. Stick around for a while if you wish and I hope you enjoy the ride, I know I am joying it! View all posts by davidnolsen

Leave a Reply

