Lots Happening!

A lot of time has gone by since my last post. I even have a draft post (which will probably just stay sitting there and not get posted) but just have not had time to finish and post anything.

I went ahead and bit the bullet on a watch. I got the Garmin 610 and LOVE IT! I bought it for a particular run in Clermont, Florida, because I wanted to check out all of the elevation changes everyone boasts about. AND plus I just wanted to get it!

That Clermont run turned out to be canceled due to lightning…so I came home and ran my own half-marathon in 2:05! That was a new PR for me…i know…it was not a race.  Still!  I was proud of my accomplishment even if it was for myself….that is why I am doing this right?  Yes!

My week this week was VERY hectic. I took 119 of my students (three different orchestra classes) to performance assessments on Thursday and they all did very well. Then I came home and then ate sushi with the love of my life and  ran 8 miles to celebrate! Great way to end a perfect day! When you have a field trip of this magnitude on one day with middle schoolers….the whole week winds up being crazy!

Back to the Garmin 610. I read many comments/complaints about the sensitivity of the touch screen. I love how easy it is to use. It is just right. Not too easy to use and not too tough to use. They even state on the site that it is adjusted to need just a bit of effort to use the screen so as not to accidentally alter something while you are running. On another note, the only thing you can do with the screen during the run is change what view you are using….you physically have to hit one of the buttons to alter what is being recorded. Again, a nice feature. The heart rate monitor took just a little getting used to. I do like it. The first time I wore it it felt like it was falling off, but I just put that out of my mind and now I don’t even notice I have it on. I also really like the vibration alerts rather than the beeps and too like the virtual partner.

My milage is now recorded as I walk into the house. The watch automatically connects to the computer when I get home and uploads to my garmin connect page. I then go into dailymile (which I just switched to from Map My Run) and hit sync and my Garmin data is synced with dailymile. I add some notes as to how things went and bam…done! Check out my dailymile by clicking on the link on the sidebar if you want more detail about my shenanigans, or even friend me if you too use dailymile if you want, that would be kinda cool!

My goal for this week is to run 35 miles. I think I will meet and beat that…hopefully not by much because I want to build and not overdue. Tomorrow is the Swamphouse half marathon that I am running with Kirstin, and I am sitting on about 28 miles for this week. I am really looking forward to just a nice fun run. I am not making any plans to run it fast, but just enjoy an nice run with a great person. There is plenty of time in life to run fast and I must enjoy every minute I get to just be with her.

 

About davidnolsen

I am a 6 through 8 grade music teacher. I enjoy many outdoor activities including hiking, backpacking, and kayaking. I am also a big computer geek. I love learning about computers, programing, web design and just how it all works. I began running in August of 2011 to support my future wife with her goal of running in the 2012 Disney Marathon. I have subsequently become pretty addicted to running and this is a journal of my past, present, and future running shenanigans. Stick around for a while if you wish and I hope you enjoy the ride, I know I am joying it! View all posts by davidnolsen

Leave a Reply

