Training Update 3/24/12

Recently I have created some weekly mileage goals. I worked on 35 total miles for 2 weeks and am planning on amping that up every two weeks by 10%. These next two weeks I am working toward 38 miles.

The first two weeks, which the goal was 35 miles, turned out to being 41 and 45! I did not expect that to happen nor try but it just happened. I am making sure to stick to the plan this week so I don’t overdue.

Last weekend was my first long run by myself. 20 miles! It started out rough as I had a lot of pain in my knees. I think the pain was due to all of the speed work for the 5k the day before. I always find that speed work tends to make my body hurt. The 20 miles, after the initial 3, went great though. I was working toward a 9:45 pace and it turned into a 9:30 pace! I was very proud of my last few miles. I was actually running in the 8:50 range!

Something that I learned on this long run was NOT to run long in a shirt that I had not tried before. I have never done this for a race, run in a new shirt, but thought I would try out this new shirt for this run just because it was a training run. The material on the shirt combined with the pressure of my hydration belt chaffed my back in grand style! A week later I am still feeling the pain.

Today was a 16 mile long run. It felt great! Tomorrow I have convinced Kristin, hopefully the weather will be ok, to run with me in Clermont on a 10 mile dirt loop. I have never run this rout before but have heard that it is a really nice run. I am also excited that it will be dirt and perhaps easier on the body. I have yet to really run any distance off pavement.

Finally on another note, I think I have mastered the tongue in my sneakers. I have had a lot of issues with the tongue slipping off the side and then my laces rubbing the top of my foot and bruising it! Well, my beasts have this little tab and today I noticed that if I take and off center the very top lacing it will “lock” the little tab to the side of the shoe and keep the tongue more to the center! WOOOOHOOO!  So far today things have been feeling pretty good!

While the tongue is still off center….it is WAY better than what it was before this little trick!

About davidnolsen

I am a 6 through 8 grade music teacher. I enjoy many outdoor activities including hiking, backpacking, and kayaking. I am also a big computer geek. I love learning about computers, programing, web design and just how it all works. I began running in August of 2011 to support my future wife with her goal of running in the 2012 Disney Marathon. I have subsequently become pretty addicted to running and this is a journal of my past, present, and future running shenanigans. Stick around for a while if you wish and I hope you enjoy the ride, I know I am joying it! View all posts by davidnolsen

Leave a Reply

