More Learning

This week, as stated in the previous post, was to be a 38 mile week. I have completed that goal, as arduous as it was (this morning’s seven mile run was not easy). Now I am getting ready to go out for another slow 5 with a friend of mine who is getting back into the running swing.

Last night we went to see the Hunger Games. Great movie! Very well done and not your typical thrown together book movie. I have not read the book but Kristin has and said that the movie was very true to the book. This outting placed us back at home at around 12 am! So getting up at 4 am and hitting the Clermont 10 mile dirt loop was not really something I was looking forward to and therefore was easily swayed.

Florida is getting hot and humid! When we started out this morning for our 7 mile run it was already 74 degrees! OUCH! I had word a shirt that I was used to wearing and thought nothing more than that.  At around mile 4 I was getting a lot of pain from my right chest…my nipple was chaffing! Something that I had read about and seen on others before…but had been lucky not to have. Well I ran for another mile like this, until I got back into our subdivion, and then off came the shirt for the last two miles.

Another reason this run was a bit difficult for me was due to the fact that I did not have my usualy banana before the run. I just drank 8 oz of chia drink. I thought that would be enough. When we got home I downed a bottle of Muscle Milk, had two pancakes from yesterday, and drank some rasberry lemonaid.

For this last 5 miles today I have a bandaid on my nipple and have changed my shirt hoping to stave off any further chaffing.  I considered posting a pic of the bandaided area…but um…yeah. We live and we learn!

Off for another 5, with perferrably sans chaffing!  Have a great week everyone!

About davidnolsen

I am a 6 through 8 grade music teacher. I enjoy many outdoor activities including hiking, backpacking, and kayaking. I am also a big computer geek. I love learning about computers, programing, web design and just how it all works. I began running in August of 2011 to support my future wife with her goal of running in the 2012 Disney Marathon. I have subsequently become pretty addicted to running and this is a journal of my past, present, and future running shenanigans. Stick around for a while if you wish and I hope you enjoy the ride, I know I am joying it! View all posts by davidnolsen

Leave a Reply

