Saturday! WHEW!

I am certainly ending this week on a high note. It has been a great break from work and yesterday, Saturday, topped it off!

My day began at 3:00 am getting up for a 20 mile run in Apopka. Our group started out at 5 strong and after our first 7 mile-ish loop one of us decided that it would be best to stop there. It was Megan’s first time running the Apopka hills and she did a great job! Very strong finish! She said that next time she will be in for two. I think it was a good decision on her part and listening to her body. We then started out for the second loop. We did this loop in the oposit direction just to add some different scenery. Upon completion of this loop we lost two more! This was a little unexpected. The hills were rough so Ryan and Nicole decided to call it a day for them too. Again, great run and great conversations. For these first two loops we averaged about a 9:40 pace. Then it was two. Carrie and I started out on the loop and Carrie mentioned that she was getting a bit tight in the calves. We walked a little and stretched a little and kept plugging along. We had a great final lap and great conversations just about life in general. Funny how running conversations seem to all come back to philosophical discussions! I think it was all the great conversation that kept us going. She never sounded tired so that just kept inspiring me to keep going!

On this run I carb loaded the previous day, at Disney (both Magic Kingdom and EPCOT), by eating a burger and fries for lunch (at Pacos Bills), a frozen margarita (in Mexico), a large soft pretzel (in Germany), and a nice large club sandwich from Crispers near home for dinner. For breakfast I had a few sips of chia drink and four pancakes (leftover from last weekend’s breakfast). During the run for nutrition I did one GU chomps every two miles with a sip of water and at the start of each loop I ate a stinger waffle. The GUs I ate were peach tea, my favorite flavor, and Cranberry Apple (first time with this flavor and I liked it!). Both contained caffein. On the run I also carried 10 oz of water and 10 oz of chia drink. I normally carry 20 oz of water, but most of this run was supported already so I tried to go a bit lighter.

All said and done, we finished our 20.66 mile Apopka run at around a 10:00 pace. Beautiful day and awesome people to run with. That is what it is about for me! It is not about the time, but the experience. The more I get into the 20 mile range I have become to realize that the fun really starts when you hit that 20th mile! I am looking forward to increasing my mileage by 2 miles every other week and seeing what things are like after 20! I had the urge to go another two miles just to finish my quota for the week but sometimes I just go with when everyone else is doing with the thought that it will stave off any injuries.

I got in the car and drank a chocolate muscle milk to start my recovery process. I did find malt flavor in my Publix and am looking forward to trying that some time too.

When I arrived at home I prepped for an ice bath. I made coffee, put on a long-sleeved shirt and sweater and filled the tub with cold water. I also had two bags of ice to add. I need to remember for future reference I’ll need probably 4 bags of ice instead of just 2! I got in just the cold water, then once I got used to that (about 1 minute) I added both bags of ice. I iced for a total of 20 minutes. I spent the time sipping on coffee and reading a book and just every once in a while moved my legs to keep the cold on them rather than that warm area that forms around your legs if you just leave them sit there.

Then made breakfast which consisted of scrambled “all white” egg whites on toast (it was great) with coffee.

Then it was off to pick up my new glasses from Guber Optical! I am very happy with the way they turned out and the way the look. I went with a much different style than what I am used to, but hey, that is ok you only live once right?!

After I picked up my glasses it was off to pick up my bike from David’s Cycle World after they did their “tune-up.” I am very happy with the way things turned out for that. It rides like a dream!

Then it was off to church to play for Palm Sunday, which I also played this morning too. That went great and it was nice, as always, to perform with friends for God! I always feel so much better after going to church to worship.

To end the day I called up a friend of mine, Dan, and we went to see another friend of mine, Mike, perform down town with his band Of Valleys. They are based out of Gainesville, FL, so it was nice to get a chance to see and hear them down here in Orlando. If you get a chance to take a look at their music I don’t think you will be sorry. They are great! Mike is a great friend of mine who also was a fantastic intern when I taught band in Gainesville. He now is a band director by day and a rockstar by night! Very proud of him!

  

When all was said and done, I drove Dan home and finally arrived at my home around 12:15 am! It was a long day to say the least but it sure was fun!

This week was to be a 38 mile week. I am ending it two miles shy. I don’t feel to bad about that as for a few weeks I went way over my goal. I have a small feeling of getting out there and just running two to get it in….but my body is telling me something different and so I am going to listen. I am in this for the LONG haul and want to build instead of tear down and injure!

On a final note, and not such a happy note, we lost one of our own this weekend. A great inspiring Ultra Runner, Micah True AKA “Caballo Blanco,” passed away during a 12 mile run. If you read Born to Run you probably remember reading all about him.

Have a great week everyone and run more!

About davidnolsen

I am a 6 through 8 grade music teacher. I enjoy many outdoor activities including hiking, backpacking, and kayaking. I am also a big computer geek. I love learning about computers, programing, web design and just how it all works. I began running in August of 2011 to support my future wife with her goal of running in the 2012 Disney Marathon. I have subsequently become pretty addicted to running and this is a journal of my past, present, and future running shenanigans. Stick around for a while if you wish and I hope you enjoy the ride, I know I am joying it! View all posts by davidnolsen

One response to “Saturday! WHEW!

  • Debra Dauphin-Jones

    Hey David! I so enjoyed reading your blog and hearing how/what you are doing. I remember your intern, Mike, and am so glad to see he is doing well with his band!

    When I’m back in Gainesville, I’ll keep my eyes open and look for when they are playing in Gainesville.

    I am temporariy living in Ft. Lauderdale working toward my masters degree in Conflict Analysis and Resolution…LOVE IT! But more than that, I am enjoying keeping up with what inspires your life these days.
    Take care and HAPPY RUNNING!
    Debra Jones
    (Sean’s mom :0)

Leave a Reply

