Many Blessings

This was an interesting week in training to say the least.

Monday: Rest

Tuesday: Track

  • Warm up run: 2.24 miles at 10:22 pace
    • hard start
  • Speed Work: 8×800 at 10K pace (8:42)
    • ran the last mile without my knee brace. That went really well, I may try it some more cautiously.

Wednesday: Rest

  • Knee felt a little weird. I am wondering if I should not have run without the brace at all!
  • Cycled easy with Kristin, it was a beautiful night! 3.7 miles at 9.9 mph

Thursday: Taper Run for LBLO Half Marathon Fun Run on Saturday.

  • Warm up run: 2.2 miles at 11:00 pace
  • Baldwin Park Loop: 4.06 at 9:00 pace
    • This run went absolutely horribly! I have been feeling with some GI issues and had to go #2 the entire run! I know TMI.

Friday: Rest

  • Carb Loading like I did last Friday. Sushi with an extra bowl of white rice.
  • Got some new balega socks and also I am trying out some Zenzah compression leg sleeves. Also bought some new Beasts!

Great pair of socks! I swear by these. Great cushion.

Saturday: LBLO Half Marathon Fun Run plus 9 miles to help Carrie get in her long run before her marathon

  • 22.02 miles at 9:47 pace
  • Started out very stressed about finishing with all the GI issues from earlier in the week.
  • Ate an egg bagel with peanut butter and a banana for pre-race.
  • Used my usual one GU chomp every two miles. At mile 13 I ate one stinger waffle.
  • This run was difficult at the start but after about the first 2 miles things started to settle in and felt great!
  • Sprinted to the end of the 13 to try to beat a pace group friend. It was fun!
  • There was a lot of reflection on the last 9 miles of this run. I was questioned many times about how I do what I do. I feel like I am very blessed to be able to accomplish what I can accomplish. I pray a lot on runs. When I was injured back in November/December 2012 I prayed for healing and that I would use that healing for good. I also feel I can accomplish what I do out of sheer will. I just want to be able to do what I do. There was also a lot of just off topic talk to get our minds off the run and on to more “positive” things that would take the mind of any pain. Carrie was awesome and had an even stronger finish then on her 20 mile run.
  • Recovery consisted of 4 muscle milks, a 4 bag of ice ice bath, and an egg bagel. I had to get going to work so the kids could play for relay for life.

4 bag of ice bath! This was the coldest bath yet! I stayed for 20 minutes. Felt great after!

Zensah leg compression sleeves. My new favorite thing!!!

 

 

Got to work around 11 am for the kids to perform for cancer survivors and cancer patients. They did a magnificent job! Very proud of them and their hard work. I think that they also got a lot out of entertaining the survivors and patients during their lunch.

Saturday evening a group of us went to Magic Kingdom for some fun! We arrived there sometime around 6pm and stayed until 11pm. Got home around 12 am. It was a great day!

Arriving at the Happiest Place on Earth!

 

Im a lucky guy!

All day, I just kept thinking back to how blessed I am and how blessed my family is. I am a very lucky person and I never want to take for granted all that God has blessed me and my family with.

Best part of going to Magic Kingdom! The Plaza Sunday!!! YUM!!!

Have a great week! Keep running!

About davidnolsen

I am a 6 through 8 grade music teacher. I enjoy many outdoor activities including hiking, backpacking, and kayaking. I am also a big computer geek. I love learning about computers, programing, web design and just how it all works. I began running in August of 2011 to support my future wife with her goal of running in the 2012 Disney Marathon. I have subsequently become pretty addicted to running and this is a journal of my past, present, and future running shenanigans. Stick around for a while if you wish and I hope you enjoy the ride, I know I am joying it! View all posts by davidnolsen

Leave a Reply

